Comparison
Opus Clip vs 2short AI: what each one accepts and what it costs
By the KeyMo team · Updated
The main difference between Opus Clip and 2short AI is how you get a video in. 2short.ai's homepage describes pasting a YouTube link, with Google Drive and public URL imports from its $9.90 Lite plan. OpusClip also accepts local files of up to 10 hours. KeyMo takes MP4 and MOV uploads of 5 minutes to 3 hours from $12 a month, with no watermark.
Opus Clip vs 2short AI at a glance
Both tools turn a long video into short vertical clips, so the useful questions are practical ones. What can you feed in, what does the free plan really give you, and what happens to the file you export? The table below answers those from each vendor's own pages, with KeyMo added as a third column. Prices are in US dollars and were read on 2026-10-11, so check the vendor before you pay.
| 2short.ai | OpusClip | KeyMo | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes. Starter: 30 minutes of AI video analysis a month (a banner on the same page says 15) | Yes. 60 credits a month, watermark, no editing, clips stop being exportable after 3 days | No free plan and no trial |
| Cheapest paid plan | Lite, $9.90/mo: 5 hours of analysis | Starter, $15/mo: 150 credits | Starter, $12/mo: 300 source minutes |
| Middle plan | Pro, $19.90/mo: 15 hours of analysis, unlimited fast server-side exports | Pro, $29/mo: 300 credits per pack ($14.50/mo when billed $174 a year) | Pro, $29/mo: 900 source minutes |
| Top plan | Premium, $49.90/mo: 50 hours of analysis | Business: custom pricing | Two plans only |
| How video goes in | Paste a YouTube link; Lite adds Google Drive and public URLs | YouTube and local files on Free; more link sources on paid plans | Upload MP4 or MOV; paste a YouTube link on paid plans |
| Longest input | Not stated on the page | 10 hours; local upload 10 GB (30 GB on Pro per the pricing table) | 3 hours (180 min) and 10 GB; minimum 5 minutes |
| Watermark | Features section says no watermarks, but does not tie that to a plan | On Free and on trial exports; Starter and Pro list watermark removal | None on any plan |
| Output shape | 1080p; vertical, square or horizontal | Up to 1080p on Free; Free and Starter list 9:16 only, Pro adds 1:1 and 16:9 | 1080x1920, 9:16 only |
| Clips per video | Not stated | Guidance of 32 to 42 clips for a 60 to 120 minute video | Up to 15, and only clips scoring 7 out of 10 or higher |
Input options decide this comparison
2short.ai's homepage describes one way in: paste a YouTube video link into the app. The Lite plan and above add imports from Google Drive and public URLs. We found no mention of uploading a file from your computer on the pages we could read, and the app itself sits behind a login, so confirm that inside the account if local files matter to you.
There is a second condition. The 2short.ai FAQ says it can only process videos that have captions, and notes that YouTube generates captions for most videos. A raw MP4 straight off a recorder has no captions, so a link to it would have to point at somewhere those captions already exist. The privacy policy also describes generating shorts from public YouTube video links.
OpusClip is the most flexible of the three on intake. The free plan imports from YouTube and from local files. Starter adds Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Rumble and StreamYard; Pro adds Twitch, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Dropbox, Loom, Riverside and more. Links must be public or unlisted. One catch from its help centre: local uploads with non-integer frame rates are not supported, and the suggested workaround is to put the file on YouTube first.
KeyMo takes a YouTube link on paid plans or an uploaded MP4 or MOV, from 5 minutes up to 3 hours and 10 GB. The link import only fetches up to 1080p, and you confirm you own the video or have permission to use it. Those are the two ways in.
Worked example: a 90-minute interview saved as an MP4
Say you recorded a 90-minute interview and have it on your laptop as an MP4. What happens in each tool? This is arithmetic from the published rules, not a timed test.
| Tool | Can the file go in? | What it uses up |
|---|---|---|
| 2short.ai | The homepage describes YouTube links, plus Drive and public URLs on Lite. Local upload is not mentioned. | The free plan gives 30 minutes of analysis a month. The page does not say how analysis is counted. If it follows video length, a 90-minute video does not fit, and Lite's 5 hours would cover three such videos. |
| OpusClip | Yes, as a local upload (10 GB limit on Free and Starter, 30 GB on Pro per the pricing table). | 1 credit per source minute, so 90 credits. Free has 60, so it cannot take the whole video. Starter's 150 covers one and leaves 60. Pro's 300 covers three. |
| KeyMo | Yes, as an MP4 upload, if the file is under 10 GB. At 90 minutes that is an average of about 15 Mbps or less. | 90 of the 300 minutes on Starter, so three such videos a month. Pro's 900 covers ten. |
The practical read: with only the file, 2short.ai means an extra step before you start, while OpusClip and KeyMo take it directly. If the interview is already a public YouTube video with captions, 2short.ai's path is just as short.
Clip rules and what you get back
OpusClip's default clip length is Auto, up to 3 minutes, and its Copilot setting lets you pick a length and a stretch of the video to clip. It gives each clip a virality score from 0 to 99, shown to Pro and Starter users only. Its help centre lists 23 to 32 clips as the range for a 30 to 60 minute video, so expect a long list to sort through.
2short.ai lists centre-stage face tracking, one-click animated subtitles, brand presets for logos and overlays, and advanced editing and cropping when automatic tracking misses. Its homepage does not say how many clips come back from a video or how long they are, so we leave those out.
KeyMo returns up to 15 clips per video in 9:16, each with a score out of 10 and a one-line reason. Only clips scoring 7 or higher are kept, which means a weak episode returns fewer clips instead of padded ones. Clip length choices are Auto (15 to 90 seconds), Short, Medium or Long. You can then open a clip and ask the chat editor for changes.
Where each one is stronger
- 2short.ai: a free plan, the lowest paid starting price at $9.90, and a features section that promises exports with no watermarks (it does not say for which plans). Lite costs $9.90 for 5 hours of analysis, against $12 for KeyMo Starter's 300 source minutes, though the two units may not be counted the same way.
- 2short.ai weak spots: the site is a single page with no terms, help centre or refund page we could find, the free-plan figure appears twice with different numbers, and the privacy policy we read is dated February 2023 and mentions GPT-3.
- OpusClip: the widest list of import sources, a 10-hour input limit, scheduling to social accounts, team seats on Pro, limited API access on Pro, and 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9 outputs on Pro. It also has a real free plan, though with a watermark and a 3-day export window.
- OpusClip weak spots: credits and minutes are used interchangeably across its own pages, the clean export needs a paid plan, and its Starter plan costs more than KeyMo Starter for half the processing allowance (150 credits against 300 minutes).
- KeyMo: flat minutes, no watermark on any plan, 9:16 output at 1080x1920 only, and fewer but scored clips. It has no free plan, only two ways to add a video, and no output other than 9:16.
Which one should you pick?
- Your video is a file on disk and you want to start now: OpusClip or KeyMo.
- Your video is already public on YouTube with captions and you want to spend as little as possible: 2short.ai, starting on its free plan.
- You want many candidate clips, a scheduler, many link sources or team seats: OpusClip Pro.
- You want a short list of clips, each with a score and a reason, vertical only, with a clean export from the first paid month: KeyMo. See KeyMo pricing for the plans.
- You only want to test the output quality: use the free plan of 2short.ai or OpusClip, and remember that OpusClip's free exports carry a watermark.
Sources: 2short.ai homepage (pricing, features, FAQ) (checked 11 October 2026); 2short.ai privacy policy (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip pricing (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip homepage (trial FAQ) (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: plans and credits (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: how credits are consumed (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: supported video sources (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: video length (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: local file uploads (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: how many clips (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: clip length (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: virality score (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: features not in the free trial (checked 11 October 2026).