Comparison
CapCut vs Opus Clip: editor or dedicated clipper?
By the KeyMo team · Updated
CapCut is a general video editor with a long video to shorts tool, where you adjust length, captions and templates yourself. Opus Clip is built around clipping, with paid plans from $15 a month. CapCut Pro is $19.99 a month, and its pricing page describes its credits mostly in terms of AI video generation. KeyMo is $12 or $29, vertical only, with scored clips and no watermark.
CapCut vs Opus Clip at a glance
CapCut and OpusClip can both end with a vertical clip, but they start from different places. CapCut is an editor that added a clip-finding tool. OpusClip is a clipper that added editing. The table lists what each vendor publishes, with KeyMo in the last column. Figures are in US dollars as read on 2026-10-11.
| CapCut | OpusClip | KeyMo | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes. Free is USD 0: free templates and basic editing tools | Yes. 60 credits a month, watermark, no editing, clips stop being exportable after 3 days | No free plan, no trial |
| Paid plans (monthly) | Pro $19.99, Ultra $79, Teams $12.49 per seat | Starter $15, Pro $29 (Business is custom) | Starter $12, Pro $29 |
| What the allowance counts | Pro: 1,200 monthly AI credits and 1 TB of storage. The credit cost of the clip tool is not stated | Credits: 1 per minute of source video. Starter 150, Pro 300 | Source minutes: Starter 300, Pro 900 |
| Input | Upload from cloud, Google Drive or Dropbox; no length or size limit stated for the clip tool | Up to 10 hours; local files, plus many link sources on paid plans | MP4 or MOV, 5 minutes to 3 hours, up to 10 GB; YouTube link on paid plans |
| Finding clips | "AI Highlights" picks key moments from speech patterns; then you adjust length, captions and templates | AI clipping with a virality score of 0 to 99 (Starter and Pro) | Up to 15 clips, each scored out of 10 with a reason; only 7 or higher kept |
| Vertical reframing | 16:9 to 9:16 with smart cropping and subject tracking | 9:16 on Free and Starter; Pro adds 1:1 and 16:9 | Face-tracking 9:16 only |
| Captions | Auto captions you can restyle (font, size, colour, effects, animation) | AI animated captions in 20+ languages on Starter and above | 12 styles, word by word |
| Watermark | Site says videos can be exported without one; not tied to a plan | On Free and trial exports; removed on paid plans | None on any plan |
What kind of tool each one is
CapCut markets an online editor, a desktop app for Windows and macOS, and mobile apps. Its long video to shorts page says to upload the video, choose AI Highlights, then adjust length, captions and templates before export. That page is titled "CapCut PC", and CapCut does not say whether the web and desktop versions share the same feature set. The result is closer to an editing session that starts with suggested moments than to a finished batch.
OpusClip sells clipping as the product. You add a video, it proposes clips with a virality score, and you edit or post from there. Its help centre gives clip-count guidance by video length, from 1 to 2 clips for a video under three minutes up to 42 to 55 for anything over two hours.
KeyMo is narrower than both. It makes vertical 9:16 clips only, keeps up to 15 per video, and drops anything scoring under 7 out of 10, so a weak episode returns fewer clips. You can open a clip afterwards and tell the chat editor what to change.
Worked example: one hour-long interview
Take a 60-minute interview and ask what it costs in allowance and what you still do by hand. We did not time any of these tools, and none of the three vendors publishes a processing time we could cite, so this covers usage and steps rather than speed.
| Tool | Allowance used by a 60-minute video | What you do next |
|---|---|---|
| CapCut | Not stated. The pricing page describes credits mostly in terms of AI video generation, and no page we read says what the clip tool costs. | Upload, pick AI Highlights, then set lengths, captions and templates yourself before export. |
| OpusClip | 60 credits. That is the entire free allowance (with watermark and a 3-day export window), 2 videos on Starter's 150, or 5 on Pro's 300. | Review the scored clips, edit captions, then download or schedule. |
| KeyMo | 60 of 300 minutes on Starter, so five such interviews a month. Pro's 900 covers fifteen. | Review the scored clips, adjust with the chat editor, download as a ZIP. |
If the interview runs longer than an hour, the numbers scale in a straight line for OpusClip and KeyMo. For CapCut, test one video first, because the usage rule is not published.
CapCut Pro vs Opus Clip Pro: the price question
If you are weighing opus clip vs capcut pro, these are the paid tiers. CapCut Pro is listed at USD 19.99 a month with 1,200 AI credits, 1 TB of storage, premium templates and all Pro features. OpusClip Pro is $29 a month with 300 credits per pack, a 2-seat team workspace, 2 brand templates and 6 social account connections, or $14.50 a month when billed $174 a year.
These are not the same kind of purchase. A CapCut Pro subscription is mostly an editing tool subscription, and the price on its page is for reference: CapCut says final price, tax and offers show after sign-in, and that Pro pricing varies with region, device and promotions. OpusClip's $29 buys a clipping allowance you can count in source minutes. CapCut also lists a budget Standard plan in some regions, whose benefits apply only on the mobile app.
Neither price tells you which is cheaper for your job. If your only job is clipping one weekly show, KeyMo Starter at $12 for 300 source minutes costs less than both Pro plans; you can compare the plans on KeyMo pricing.
Watermark, captions and export
- Watermark on CapCut: the online editor FAQ says you can make videos without a watermark, the long video to shorts page says its clips come out without watermarks, and its help centre says the mark usually comes from a CapCut ending clip on template projects, which you delete. None of these says what the Free plan allows plan by plan, so check one export before you commit.
- Watermark on OpusClip: Free and trial exports carry it. Starter and Pro list watermark removal. OpusClip's help page says trial users also cannot bulk download or post to social accounts.
- Captions on CapCut: language is recognised automatically, captions can be edited and styled, and translation is offered. The translator page claims subtitles in over 27 languages.
- Captions on OpusClip: animated captions in 20+ languages from Starter. English, German, Spanish, French and Portuguese are non-beta; other languages are marked beta.
- Export size: the CapCut pages we read do not state export resolutions by plan. OpusClip crops rather than compresses, so a 1080p horizontal source becomes 608 x 1080 vertical, and 4K export needs a genuinely 4K source on Pro.
Which one should you pick?
- You edit video anyway and want clips as one more job inside an editor: CapCut.
- You publish weekly, want a ranked list of clips and a scheduler, or need 16:9 or 1:1 output: OpusClip, most likely on Pro.
- You want fewer, scored clips, vertical only, a clean export on every plan and a flat monthly price in minutes: KeyMo. There is no free plan to test on.
- You only need to try the idea: use the free tier of CapCut or OpusClip, and keep in mind OpusClip's free export is watermarked.
- You want a longer comparison of OpusClip with a clipper: see OpusClip against KeyMo and the CapCut long video to shorts alternatives.
Sources: CapCut pricing (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut help: how much does CapCut Pro cost (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut help: new subscription pricing (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut help: subscription across platforms (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut long video to shorts (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut auto caption generator (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut video translator (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut online video editor (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut help: remove watermark when exporting (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut help: cancel subscription (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut terms of service (checked 11 October 2026); CapCut desktop video editor (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip pricing (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: plans and credits (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: how credits are consumed (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: how many clips (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: features not in the free trial (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: output size and cropping (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: 4K export (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: supported languages (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: virality score (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip terms of service (checked 11 October 2026); OpusClip help: refunding a project (checked 11 October 2026).