Skip to content

Platform specs

TikTok video length: maximum, minimum and what TikTok states

By the KeyMo team · Updated

As of 11 October 2026, the only organic length TikTok states on the pages we could read is 60 minutes, for uploads made in TikTok Studio or on TikTok.com. For TikTok Studio desktop uploads it also states 720p or higher and up to 10 GB. We found no stated minimum length and no in-app recording limit, so we do not print one.

TikTok video length limits, as of 11 October 2026

This table lists only numbers we read on TikTok's own pages on 11 October 2026. Where TikTok does not state a figure on those pages, the row says so instead of guessing.

WhatWhat TikTok statesWhere it comes from
Maximum upload length, TikTok Studio on desktopUp to 60 minutesTikTok Creator Academy
Maximum upload length on TikTok.comUp to 60 minutesTikTok Creator Academy
Resolution for those long uploads (TikTok Studio desktop)720p or higherTikTok Creator Academy
File size for those long uploads (TikTok Studio desktop)Up to 10 GBTikTok Creator Academy
Creator Rewards ProgramOriginal video over 1 minute long (a program rule, not a length limit)TikTok Creator Academy
Non-Spark in-feed ads, auctionUp to 10 minutesTikTok Ads Manager help
Non-Spark in-feed ads, reservation5 to 60 seconds, 9 to 15 seconds recommendedTikTok Ads Manager help
Spark Ads (using an organic video)No duration restriction on either ads page, as long as the video can be published on TikTokTikTok Ads Manager help
Minimum length for a regular postNot stated on the pages we could readNone
Limit when recording or uploading in the phone appNot stated on the pages we could readNone

The two non-Spark ad rows differ because TikTok's auction and reservation pages give different numbers. We show both and name the ad type. Ad limits are not the limit for a regular post.

What TikTok does not say, and why numbers online differ

The 60-minute figure is on TikTok's Creator Academy page. We could not open TikTok's support articles on recording and in-app upload limits from our network, so we cannot show you an official in-app number and we leave any such figure out.

There is also no minimum length on the pages we read. The only 'over 1 minute' rule we found belongs to the Creator Rewards Program, and it decides whether a video can earn rewards, not whether it can be posted.

How to pick a length when the ceiling is so high

A 60-minute ceiling tells you what is possible, not what to post. Our recommendation, which is ours and not TikTok's, is to cut each clip to one finished idea and let that set the length.

  • If the clip is one answer to one question, stop when the answer ends, even if that is 25 seconds.
  • If a story needs a setup, keep the setup and cut everything around it.
  • If you want the video to count for Creator Rewards, make sure the final file is over 60 seconds, not exactly 60. TikTok lists other criteria too.
  • If you plan to run the same clip as an ad, check the ad rows above first, because the non-Spark ad limits are tighter.

For longer clips and the reasoning behind a good range, see the best TikTok video length. For the other size numbers, see TikTok aspect ratio and size.

How KeyMo clip lengths sit against TikTok's limits

KeyMo cuts a long video into vertical clips and lets you choose the length range. Every option is far below the 60-minute upload figure, and TikTok states no minimum on the pages we read.

KeyMo length choiceClip lengthFits TikTok's stated limits
Auto15 to 90 secondsYes
Short20 to 40 secondsYes
Medium40 to 60 secondsYes, but at or under the 1-minute mark for Creator Rewards
Long60 to 90 secondsYes, check each clip is over 60 seconds for Creator Rewards

For a 60-minute episode, KeyMo's built-in target is 8 to 12 clips from a video up to 60 minutes, and only clips scoring 7 out of 10 or higher are kept, so a weak episode returns fewer. That is a target, not a measured result. Output is 1080x1920, 9:16, H.264/AAC, which is well above the 720p floor for long uploads. See how to post podcast clips on TikTok.

Sources: TikTok Creator Academy (checked 11 October 2026); TikTok Ads Manager: auction in-feed ads (checked 11 October 2026); TikTok Ads Manager: reservation in-feed ads (checked 11 October 2026).

FAQ

How long can a TikTok video be?

On the pages we could read, TikTok states 60 minutes for uploads in TikTok Studio on desktop and on TikTok.com. TikTok's readable pages give no separate figure for recording in the phone app.

Does TikTok have a minimum video length?

We found no minimum on the TikTok pages we could read. Creator Rewards needs a video over one minute, but that is an earning rule, not a rule for posting.

Why do TikTok ads show different length limits?

For non-Spark ads, TikTok's auction page says up to 10 minutes and its reservation page says 5 to 60 seconds. Both pages say Spark Ads have no duration restriction. The pages do not explain the gap between the two.

Do long TikTok uploads need a certain quality?

For TikTok Studio desktop uploads of up to 60 minutes TikTok states 720p or higher and up to 10 GB. Its Creator Rewards tips also say to make videos 1080p or higher, which is advice, not a rule.

Will this page change if TikTok changes its limits?

Yes. Every figure here carries the date we read it, and the update date at the top moves when we recheck. If TikTok publishes a new number, the table is where we change it first.