Review
Spikes Studio review: plans, limits and what its pages leave out
By the KeyMo team · Updated
Spikes Studio is an AI clipper with a free Basic plan and paid PRO+ and Enterprise plans sold in minutes. This review uses only its own pages as of 11 October 2026, not hands-on testing or user reviews. Several limits, such as the maximum source length, are not stated on the pages we could read.
What this Spikes Studio review covers
We read spikes.studio's home, pricing, captions, short-video-maker and podcast pages, two of its blog posts, and the terms and privacy pages in its app. We did not run a video through it. We also did not read user reviews, so this page says nothing on what a search for spikes studio reddit would turn up.
One gap matters. The help-centre link in the site footer returned a 404 on the day we checked, so we could not read any article on how minutes are counted, export quality or cancellation. Where a number is missing below, that is why.
What Spikes Studio says it does
Its home page says the AI editor finds the best moments in your videos and turns them into clips for social platforms. The podcast page says it turns long videos into shorts in one click, and a blog post describes a prompt-based clip picker, a virality score, a clip length selector, face tracking and a beta tool that removes silent moments. Captions come in a plain auto-caption style or an animated style that you can adjust before export.
The pricing page says it supports over 99 languages. The podcast page lists reframing to 9:16, 16:9 or 1:1. Scheduling is listed for LinkedIn, TikTok, Facebook and YouTube. The home page also promotes micro-drama production, which is a separate line of business from clipping.
Spikes Studio plans and limits, checked 11 October 2026
| Plan | Price | Allowance and features listed |
|---|---|---|
| Basic (free) | $0 | Demo clips; 720p; watermark; auto-captions; basic editor; files stored 7 days |
| PRO+ | $32.99 a month, or $14.09 a month billed annually | 300 minutes a month (3,600 a year on the annual view); 1080p; no watermark; animated captions; AI B-roll; scheduler; files stored 90 days |
| Enterprise | $115.99 a month, or $56.34 a month billed annually | 1,200 minutes a month (14,400 a year); 1080p; custom templates; account manager; unlimited storage; an API application link |
The pricing-page FAQ says the free plan includes up to 30 minutes of video content, with extra minutes earned through referrals and onboarding. The home page version of the same FAQ leaves out the 30 figure.
What the pages do not say
- How a minute is counted: source video length or finished clip length. The pricing page does not define it.
- A maximum source length for clipping. The web editor takes videos up to 5 minutes through its Add Captions tab, but the limit for long-video clipping is not stated.
- Which links it accepts, and any file-size limit.
- A trial length in days, or a money-back window.
On refunds, the terms say recurring charges renew at the current rate unless you turn off auto-renewal, that you can cancel at any time and keep access to the end of the paid term, and that no prorated refunds are given.
Is Spikes Studio legit and safe? What its pages show
A review built from web pages cannot certify a company, and we make no judgement on it. What the pages do show: the terms name PlayStream Ltd., an Israeli corporation, as the entity behind the service, and Israeli law governs. The pricing FAQ says only you have access to your content. That is the vendor's claim, which we did not test.
On money, the terms say fees already paid are not refunded, and that Paid Services cannot be terminated before the end of the period already paid for. Read that section before you pick a billing period.
Strengths and limits as the vendor states them
- Strength: a free plan with no credit card. The plan card says "access demo clips" and one FAQ says up to 30 minutes of video content, so check what you can run on your own footage.
- Strength: a long language list, and a prompt-based picker for steering which moments are chosen.
- Strength: scheduling and clip analytics on PRO+ and Enterprise, and 90 days of storage on PRO+.
- Limit: free exports are 720p with a watermark, and animated captions are marked for paid plans only.
- Limit: the missing help centre and the unclear minute definition make the allowance hard to compare.
The podcast page also says that from a 1-hour video it usually creates 25 clips. That is the vendor's own figure and an average claim, not something we measured.
Who it suits and how KeyMo differs
Spikes Studio suits you if you want a free starting point, a scheduler in the same app, or square and landscape exports. KeyMo has no free plan and no trial, and it exports vertical 9:16 only.
KeyMo suits long podcast and interview episodes. Source files run 5 minutes to 3 hours, and it returns up to 15 clips with a score out of 10 and a short reason for each. Clips below 7 are dropped, so a thin episode gives fewer clips, not padding. It has 12 caption styles and no plan adds a watermark. On paper, 300 minutes costs $12 a month on KeyMo Starter against $32.99 on Spikes PRO+, but Spikes does not say what its minute measures. See KeyMo pricing and Spikes Studio alternatives.
Sources: Spikes Studio home (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio pricing (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio animated captions (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio short video maker (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio for podcasts (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio blog: tools for content creators (checked 11 October 2026); Spikes Studio terms (checked 11 October 2026).