Skip to content

Review

Captions app review: what each plan includes and who it suits

By the KeyMo team · Updated

This Captions app review uses only captions.ai's own pages, read on 11 October 2026, with no hands-on testing or user ratings. Captions is a broad AI video editor, and its Clips feature for long videos sits on the Max plan at $24.99 a month. KeyMo does one job, scored vertical clips from a long video, from $12 a month with no free plan.

What this Captions app review rests on

Captions pages disagree with each other in several places, and the pricing page says it reflects iOS plans only. We point those out where they matter, so you know which numbers to confirm before you subscribe.

What the Captions app is

Captions runs on iOS, Android and the web. It calls itself an AI video editor. Its feature pages cover captions in 100+ languages with 100+ caption styles, animated word-by-word captions, auto emojis, burned-in captions, AI Edit, a chat-based editor, AI actors, generative B-roll, music, translation and dubbing. The company is NOCAP, Inc. trading as Captions, and its terms and API carry the Mirage name.

For this site's purposes the part that matters is Clips. The Clips page says you can upload a video file up to 3 hours and 10 GB, or paste a YouTube or public video link, and get up to 30 or more clips ranked for virality. You can also trim a clip's length before exporting. Captions says Clips is built for multi-speaker conversation, follows whoever is talking, and detects captions already burned into the footage so it does not add a second set.

The pricing page puts Clips on Max and Frontier. The credit cost of one Clips run is not listed in the credit table, so we cannot tell you how many long videos a month's credits will cover.

Captions plans and credits, checked 11 October 2026

The Captions pricing page states that prices are in USD and reflect iOS plans only. Yearly plans are discounted, but the pages give no figure.
PlanPriceCreditsWhere it is listed
Free$0None on the pricing page; 60 to 200 lifetime credits in the help centrePricing page and help centre
Lite (Android only)$4.99 a monthNot statedHelp centre
Basic$9.99 a month200 a monthHelp centre only
Max$24.99 a month500 a monthPricing page; includes Clips
Frontier (1x)$69.99 a month1,400 a monthPricing page
Frontier 2x$139.99 a month2,800 a monthPricing page
Frontier 4x$279.99 a month5,600 a monthPricing page
EnterpriseCustomCustomBulk credit discounts, custom seats, account management
KeyMo Starter$12 a month300 source minutesNo credits to track; no free plan
KeyMo Pro$29 a month900 source minutesNo credits to track; no free plan

Credits pay for AI features. The help centre lists Prompt to Video at 16 credits every 6 seconds, AI Edit at 10 to 40 credits depending on length, model and algorithm, and a clip style change at 1 credit. Chat-based editing costs 2 credits per message plus 1 credit per action. Ten messages that each trigger two actions would use 40 credits, about 8% of Max's 500.

Unused credits roll over on Basic and above, capped at 3 times the monthly allowance. Credits are spent even if you never export the project. Individual credits cannot be bought on standard plans, so the way to get more is a higher tier. Cancelling forfeits what remains at the end of the billing period.

Free version, watermark and export rules

  • Free: the pricing FAQ says the free version covers basic tools such as trimming, transitions and some media library assets. The help centre says one caption template ("Eclipse") and 60 to 200 lifetime credits that do not refresh.
  • Export gate: basic manual edits can be exported on Free. A project that uses AI Edit, caption styles, eye contact correction or background music needs a paid plan to export.
  • Watermark: the help centre lists no watermarks on Free or paid plans. It also says an export carries a watermark if a Basic subscriber uses Max-only features such as Co-Editor, AI Edit or AI-generated media.
  • Settings: export lets you choose resolution, frame rate and bitrate, and download captions as a separate SRT file. A maximum resolution is not stated.
  • Shapes: 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5, with Fill, Fit or Auto content fit.
  • Billing: monthly plans bought on the website are non-refundable, though you can cancel anytime. App Store and Play Store purchases go through Apple or Google. Subscriptions auto-renew unless cancelled at least 24 hours before renewal, and they can be cancelled but not paused.

Strengths, as Captions describes them

  • Breadth. One app covers captions, editing, translation, dubbing, AI actors and B-roll, with iOS, Android and web versions.
  • A large caption library: 100+ styles on Max and Frontier, against 12 at KeyMo.
  • Input up to 3 hours and 10 GB for Clips, and output of 30 or more ranked clips.
  • Shapes beyond vertical, including landscape, square and 4:5.
  • A free version, plus a low-cost Android plan and a Basic tier, if you only need light editing.
  • A priced API (Mirage): Add Captions is $0.15 per minute, with a rate limit of 100 requests per minute.

Limits and conflicts to check

  • Input limits differ by page. Clips says 3 hours; the general import page says up to 60 minutes per file; the Add Captions help page lists 10 minutes for same-language captions. They likely describe different features, but the pages do not reconcile them.
  • Plan list: the pricing page shows Free, Max, Frontier and Enterprise, while the help centre also lists Basic and Lite.
  • Subscriptions are intended for single users and cannot be shared.
  • Credits drain on experiments. They are used even when a project is not exported.
  • Terms: you own your input and output, subject to Mirage's rights in its own content in the output, and you grant a limited licence to host and process it. We are not giving legal advice, so read the terms.
  • Safe and legit: Captions names its company and publishes terms and a help centre. Public pages cannot verify security.

Who Captions suits, and how KeyMo differs

Captions is the better pick for phone-first creators who want one editor for talking-head videos: heavy caption styling, AI effects, translation and landscape or square output, plus a free version to start with. If you need clips from a video that is 3 hours long, it lists that too.

KeyMo is a single-purpose tool. It takes an MP4 or MOV from 5 minutes to 3 hours, or a YouTube link on a paid plan, and returns up to 15 vertical clips at 1080 x 1920, each scored out of 10 with a one-line reason and only those at 7 or above kept. It offers 12 caption styles with word-by-word captions, a face-tracking reframe and a chat editor. Starter costs $12 and Pro $29, with no free plan and no watermark.

If clipping long podcasts is the whole job, compare the two on KeyMo pricing. For caption-only tools see best auto captions apps, or read Captions app alternatives.

Sources: Captions homepage (checked 11 October 2026); Captions pricing (checked 11 October 2026); Captions Clips (checked 11 October 2026); Captions: add captions to videos (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: subscriptions and plans (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: understanding credits (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: cancel your subscription (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: manage subscription and billing (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: publish and export (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: scale and content fit (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: watermark (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: import and upload (checked 11 October 2026); Captions help: add captions (checked 11 October 2026); Captions API pricing (checked 11 October 2026); Captions terms (Mirage) (checked 11 October 2026).

FAQ

Is the Captions app good for turning a podcast into clips?

Its Clips feature is built for multi-speaker conversation and takes uploads up to 3 hours, but it needs the Max plan at $24.99 a month. Clip quality on your show is something only a test on your own episode can show.

Is the Captions app worth it, or is the free version enough?

The free version covers basic trimming and transitions. Projects using AI Edit, caption styles or background music need a paid plan to export, so free suits light edits rather than clipping long videos.

Is Captions AI safe and legit?

Captions names its company, publishes terms and a help centre, and says you own your input and output, subject to its content rights. We cannot audit security from public pages, so read the terms before uploading.

How do Captions credits work?

AI features spend credits from a monthly allowance, such as 500 on Max. Unused credits roll over up to three times the allowance, credits are used even without exporting, and you cannot buy single credits on standard plans.

Will the Captions app add a watermark to my video?

The help centre lists no watermarks on Free or paid plans. The exception it states is a Basic subscriber who uses Max-only features such as AI Edit, whose export then carries a watermark.