Platform specs
Snapchat Spotlight video length: the numbers Snapchat actually states
By the KeyMo team · Updated
As of 11 October 2026, Snapchat states two Spotlight lengths: 5 seconds or longer to post from the camera, and at least 30 seconds to earn revenue. It states no maximum length, ratio or file size on the help pages we read, so any hard cap you see elsewhere is not from Snap.
Snapchat Spotlight length numbers, as of 11 October 2026
| Item | What Snapchat states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum to post from the camera preview | Video Snap of 5 seconds or longer | Snapchat Support |
| Who sees the Post button | Users 16 or older, in a region where Spotlight posting is on, with a video of 5 seconds or more | Snapchat Support |
| Minimum to earn revenue | At least 30 seconds | Snapchat Monetization Program page |
| Other routes: Send To screen, upload from My Account, web uploader | No minimum length stated on the pages we read | Snapchat Support |
| Maximum length | Not stated on the pages we read | None |
| Aspect ratio, resolution, file size | Not stated for Spotlight uploads on the pages we read | None |
| Single image or video ads (Stories and Spotlight ad placements) | 9:16, 720x1280, 3 to 180 seconds, .mp4 or .mov for video (an ad spec) | Snapchat for Business |
The last row is for advertisers. It is a useful hint about the frame Snapchat likes, but it is not an upload rule for creators.
What Snapchat leaves out, and what that means
Other sites print a firm Spotlight cap. We could not find one on Snapchat's own help pages, so we print none. The same goes for frame size and file size: Snap says nothing on the pages we read.
Length is only one gate. Snapchat also moderates Spotlight posts before they reach the wider community, and its help page says not every Snap will make it into Spotlight. A clip that meets the length rule can still go nowhere.
Posting rules that sit next to length
- Post from the phone camera: make a video Snap of 5 seconds or more and tap Post on the preview. The other routes Snapchat lists state no minimum.
- Post from a computer: drag a video onto the upload area at profile.snapchat.com, choose Spotlight Snaps under Send to, accept the Creator Terms and post.
- Revenue: the 30-second minimum is one condition among others, including follower and view-time criteria set by Snap.
- Rules: posts must follow Snap's Spotlight Guidelines, Terms of Service and Spotlight Terms.
If your goal is revenue, the 30-second floor is the number to plan around. If your goal is reach, Snap gives no length target at all.
Turning a 60-minute podcast into Spotlight clips
Say you have a 60-minute episode. KeyMo's built-in target is 8 to 12 clips for a video up to 60 minutes, and it keeps only clips scoring 7 out of 10 or higher, so a thin episode returns fewer. The target is built in and not a measured result.
| Choice in KeyMo | Clip length | Against Snap's numbers |
|---|---|---|
| Short | 20 to 40 seconds | Over the 5-second minimum; may fall under the 30-second revenue floor |
| Medium | 40 to 60 seconds | Over both the 5-second and 30-second figures |
| Long | 60 to 90 seconds | Over both, with room for a longer story |
| Auto | 15 to 90 seconds | KeyMo picks the length per clip |
Ten clips at 45 seconds each come to 7 minutes 30 seconds of the hour. KeyMo exports 1080x1920, 9:16, H.264/AAC with no watermark on any plan. Source files can be 5 minutes to 3 hours. See podcast to Reels and the TikTok length page for the same worked approach.
Sources: Snapchat Support: How do I post Snaps to Spotlight? (checked 11 October 2026); Snapchat Support: How do I submit a Snap to Spotlight from the web? (checked 11 October 2026); Snapchat Support: Are Snap submissions moderated before being posted to Spotlight? (checked 11 October 2026); Snapchat Support: Why haven't I received any views on my Spotlight Snaps? (checked 11 October 2026); Snapchat Support: About Snapchat's Monetization Program (checked 11 October 2026); Snapchat for Business: ad formats and specs (checked 11 October 2026).